What’s The Rockbrat Listening To Today ? Slade – ‘Sladest’

Posted: August 1, 2014 by rockbrat in What's The Rockbrat Listening To Today ?
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

sladestToday I am giving Slade’s 1973 record ‘Sladest’ a thorough inspection – and damn it’s good. Actually it’s extraordinary ! What you are in fact all looking at folks – is the very first record I ever bought. See, me and the Cowboy used to spend many Saturday mornings as kids – perusing local school fetes, and it was on once such occasion, when I – at around 10 years old – shelled out around 50 cents for this guitar-charged classic. Suffice to say, when I got the wax home and spun it, I was addicted for life. The quality of hook-laden songs contained here is incredible – and I spent many hours as a kid – greedily drinking from the Slade well, whilst simultaneously reading over the booklet contained in this gatefold album.  Funnily enough, I have a distant memory of one of my sisters – (the one who let the side down when it came to rock cred) – mocking Dave Hill’s haircut. This misguided slur – made by someone who had dodgy albums by the likes of Bony M and Hall & Oates wedged in her K-tel Record Selector (not to mention sporting a do not unlike that of John Oates) – was most unwelcome. All hail Dave Hill – he has penned some of the most recognisable riffs of all time and is waaaaaay underrated. But where was I?  Oh yeah – just get a load of some of the tracks on Sladest: Cum on Feel the Noize, Look Wot You Dun, Gudbuy T’Jane, Skweeze Me Pleeze Me, Take Me Bak ‘Ome, Coz I Luv You, Get Down and Get With It, Mama Weer All Crazee Now. I mean, I know this was a Greatest Hits’ album, but sheesh – all tracks really are wonderful rock n roll songs, good time tunes, party tunes – a couple of them are bonafide anthems. No wonder that Slade were hugely influential on Simmons and Stanley from Kiss (not to mention helping themselves to the ‘Alive !’ title for their err live opus from 75 – Slade Alive ! was released three years earlier).  And as we would see some two decades later – Noel from Oasis would display his love of Slade through his music and songwriting.

In the 80’s – LA’s Quiet Riot would have massive success with a couple of Slade songs – main man Kevin Du Brow’s  vocals eerily like Noddy Holder. Not that I cared – I loved QR as much as Slade – and if you don’t own 1983’s Metal Health and 1984’s Condition Critical may the “Man With The Metal Mask” track you down. Fun fact: Quiet Riot form in 1973 – same year as ‘Sladest’ was issued. This record went to number one in both UK and here in Australia – and justifiably sat there for some time. Apart from Quiet Riot – I know of a couple of other bands to have tackled Slade tunage such as the aforementioned Oasis with Cum on Feel the Noize (which rivals the original) – and the horrendous Britny Fox who butchered ‘Goodbye T Jane’ back in 1988.

So there you have it folks – ‘Sladest’ – the first record I bought which ultimately has led me on an incredible rock n roll journey – which continues to this day. Go buy this and start your own   journey now !

Comments
  1. […] What’s The Rockbrat Listening To Today ? Slade – ‘Sladest’ […]

  2. Glamazon says:

    I was a big Slade fan and while they were tossed into the glam bucket I didn’t feel they were of that lot. But I didn’t buy records based on category anyway. Now a band like The Sweet – I could see them being classed a Brickie Glam but Slade were, at least for me, much more “working class” and had a primal connection going on with the crowd although they were capable of sappy pop but I put that down to wanting to make a few bucks to keep the fun going. My first reaction to Noddy was that he was a Steve Marriot imitator of some sort but that wasn’t really true. I think that Noddy actually had MORE power than the “Little Cockney Who Roared”. And while there were similarities they were contemporaries after all. I could never work out what Noddy’s stage dress was all about and Dave Hill sometimes looked like he had been moonlighting in Sun Ra’s Arkestra. But I always looked past that and tuned into the music. I was always knocked out by the simplicity and ferocity of the music. Noddy could sometimes sound like two different guys – he would sing a line in one register and then kick into that high pitched register. I think Noddy was one of those guys who could always sing – he never really had to work at it. I can’t imagine him ever having to work at getting his “sound” – it was just there from day one. You could tell his stage patter voice was close to his natural voice (unlike someone like Paul Stanley who adopted that faux preacher thing). So Noddy’s vocals weren’t affected (or at least didn’t sound like it). In general if there was ever a week spot in a Slade show it was rarely Noddy’s voice. I did come to accept that there were/are people who are completely turned off by the sound of Noddy’s voice. I suppose anything is possible. Lastly I don’t know if Kevin DuBrow consciously emulated Noddy but he could sound uncannily like Noddy. I was just happy to hear a singer check Noddy’s style and music.

Leave a Reply

