Autographed By Boris Sujdovic and Chris Flynn

If you’ve read other posts Ive written on this blog, you’ll rightly ascertain that I was a massive Dubrovniks fan – and would see them all over Sydney whenever they played. I unearthed this poster the other day and thought I’d share it. I took it from the wall of the Lansdowne Hotel at Broadway, from a Dubrovniks gig on the 10th of April, 1990. Supports were Nick Barker & The Reptiles and Jean-Paul Sartre Experience. It was a blinding gig (to use a term often used by the limeys) and Boris and Chris Flynn were good enough to sign it for me. It’s a simple, yet effective design. ‘Dubrovniks – Seducing Your Sonic Senses’ and indeed they did – on several occasions. They were one of my favourite bands to see live. I tagged them an ‘inner city supergroup’ in reviews I wrote in Vicious Kitten Fanzine, and this tag has often been quoted to describe them in recent years – and that term was accurate.  They were loud, melodic, had the right pedigree -and were damn cool. I always wanted to be a Dubrovnik. 20 odd years later – if you werent there, you missed it.

Leave a Reply

